VK & JRock CH Astan Magazine Nippon Project
Home   |   About DIO   |   FAQ   |   TaC   |   Location   |   Contact    
Dio – distraught overlord is still a relatively young band from Tokyo and was formed in 2006. Their current line-up was completed shortly after with mikaru (vo), erina (gt), kei (gt), ivy (ba) and denka (dr) - each of them musicians who had been active in the Japanese independent music scene before.

Both their music and their looks follow the concept which they have given themselves through their name, distraught overlord. The songs of the quintet are heavy and gloomy, yet melodic, and can be assigned to the broad genre of metal. Their clothes follow this basic idea, and are mostly dark, but were also bright for some time, and thus formed a clear contrast to the music at that time. By now, Dio have released five singles, one mini-album, one studio record, as well as two DVDs in Japan.

In the summer of 2007 they made their debut overseas at the Japan Expo in Paris, in front of 5'000 people. In March 2008 the group returned to Europe once again for 13 concerts, including their very first show in Switzerland. In November of the same year the group returned for another tour and performed in Germany, Belgium, Poland, England, France and Finland. Furthermore, we were able to bring them to Zurich for an exclusive concert, which was a great success. In the course of their new Euro tour, the aspiring band will perform in Switzerland for the third time on October 14th '09.

If you'd like to know more about the band you can find their full biography and discography as well as music videos at Nippon Project, our media partner:
Dio's profile at Nippon Project
Dio's music videos at Nippon Project

Visual kei is composed of the term visual, and the kanji 系 for kei (system, origin, descent, clique). Visual kei, abbreviated with VK, is a movement of the Japanese independent music scene, which causes a furore in the foreign media by a partly excessive and eccentric look, heavy make-up and unusual hair styles, often coupled with an androgynous appearance of some of the members of these bands. The music itself can't be assigned to a single genre: From punk and metal to pop and rock; visual kei is present in almost every musical category.



       Ba: Ivy               Gt: Erina             Vo: Mikaru                 Gt: Kei                Dr: Denka

VK & JRock CH Astan Magazine Nippon Project
Home   |   About DIO   |   FAQ   |   AGB   |   Location   |   Contact    
Dio – distraught overlord ist eine noch relativ junge Gruppe aus Tokio, welche im Mai 2006 gegründet wurde. Ihr jetziges Line-up komplettierte die Band schon kurz danach mit mikaru (Vo), erina (Gt), kei (Gt), ivy (Ba) und denka (Dr) - alles Mitglieder, die zuvor schon in der Japanischen Independent Musikszene aktiv waren.

Sowohl ihre Musik, als auch ihr Aussehen folgen dem Konzept, welches sie sich durch ihren Namen, distraught overlord, gegeben haben. Die Lieder der fünf sind hart und düster, aber dennoch melodiös, und lassen sich musikalisch dem Metal zuordnen. Ihre Kleidung folgt diesem Grundgedanken und ist vornehmlich dunkel, war zwischenzeitlich aber auch schon einmal hell und bildete somit einen Gegensatz zur Musik. Inzwischen haben Dio in Japan bereits fünf Singles, ein Mini-Album, ein Studioalbum, sowie zwei DVDs veröffentlicht.

Ihr Debüt in Übersee gaben sie im Sommer 2007 an der Japan Expo in Paris vor 5000 Zuschauern. Im März 2008 kam die Gruppe für eine Tour mit 13 Konzerten erneut nach Europa und spielte unter anderem auch zum ersten Mal in der Schweiz. Im November des selben Jahres kehrte die Gruppe für eine erneute Tournee zurück und trat in Deutschland, Belgien, Polen, England, Frankreich und Finnland auf. Auch konnten wir Dio für ein exklusives Konzert in Zürich gewinnen, welches ein voller Erfolg war. Am 14. Oktober '09 wird die aufstrebende Gruppe nun im Rahmen ihrer neuen Euro Tour zum dritten Mal in der Schweiz auftreten.

Wenn Du gerne mehr über die Band wissen möchtest, dann findest du auf Nippon Project, unserem Medien Partner, ihre komplette Biographie, Diskographie und auch Musikvideos:
Dio's Profil auf Nippon Project
Dio's Musikvideos auf Nippon Project

Visual Kei setzt sich aus dem englischen Begriff visual (visuell, optisch) und dem Kanji-Zeichen 系 für kei (System, Herkunft, Abstammung, Clique) zusammen. Visual Kei, abgekürzt VK, ist eine Bewegung in der japanischen Independent-Musikszene, die durch ihren teilweise überladenen und exzentrischen Look, stechendes Make-up, ungewöhnliche Hairstyles und oft gepaart mit androgynem Aussehen einiger Mitglieder, in den ausländischen Medien für Furore sorgt. Die Musik selbst lässt sich auf keine Sparte so richtig festlegen. Von Punk, Metal bis hin zu Pop und Rock ist Visual Kei in fast allen musikalischen Sparten anwesend.



       Ba: Ivy               Gt: Erina             Vo: Mikaru                 Gt: Kei                Dr: Denka